Qatari Riyal

Until 1966, Qatar used the Indian rupee as its currency, in the form of Gulf rupees. When India devalued the rupee in 1966, Qatar, along with the other states using the Gulf rupee, chose to introduce its own currency.

Before doing so, Qatar briefly adopted the Saudi riyal, then introduced the Qatar and Dubai riyal following the signing of the Qatar-Dubai Currency Agreement on 21 March 1966. The Saudi riyal was worth 1.065 Gulf rupees, whilst the Qatar and Dubai riyal was equal to the Gulf rupee prior to its devaluation.

Share this product



Additional information


1 QR, 10 QR, 100 QR, 5 QR, 50 QR, 500 QR


15000 SAR, 30000 SAR, 45000 SAR


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Qatari Riyal”